What Europe?

The single applications of “Europe in Maps” are based on a predefined spatial setting, where Europe is bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Mediterranean Sea, Black Sea and the Caucasus Mountains to the south and by the Ural Mountains to the East.

At state level we refer to the list of United Nations Member Countries. This affects two areas with an ambiguous affiliation. Since Kosovo is not acknowledged as an independent state by the UN (even though 91 states, including Germany, have already recognised its declaration of independence) it is consequently assumed to be part of the Republic of Serbia. On the other hand, Northern Cyprus is considered by the international community to be the occupied territory of the Republic of Cyprus and does not appear as a separate area.

Russia and Turkey, not completely meeting the defined spatial requirements, are statistically considered as including their Asian national territory.  The overseas territories of France and the United Kingdom are not taken into account.

According to the thematic focus of some applications, documented variations to the above principles will exist.

To account for the various aims of the applications created for Europe in Maps different Map Projections (generally the Lambert Azimuthal Equal Area Coordinate Reference System) referring to the European Terrestrial Reference System 89 (ETRS89) which is commonly recognised as the most appropriate European geodetic datum to be adopted, have been used. Where a different Projection has been chosen, it is discussed in the respective appendices.